Ray T. Chen

Foundation Faculty Fellowship

Supervisor, Dr.Ray T. Chen, received the B.S. in Physics (1980) from the National Tsing Hua University in Taiwan, the M.S. in Physics (1983) and the Ph.D. (1988) in Electrical Engineering, both from the University of California. He joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin in 1992,
and prior to that was a Director of the Electro-Optic Engineering Department at the Physical Optics Corporation in Torrance, California.

Dr. Chen's research group has been working on over fifty awarded research programs sponsored by many subdivisions of DOD, NSF, DOE, NASA, State of Texas and other private industries such as Cray Research, Texas Instruments, Applied Materials, Intel, GE, Honeywell, 3M, Boeing, Physical Optics Corporation, MCC and Novex Corporation. The research topics cover guided wave and free-space optical interconnects, polymer-based integrated optics, polymer waveguide amplifier, graded index polymer waveguide lenses, active optical back planes, traveling wave electro-optic polymer waveguide modulators, optical control of phased array antenna, GaAs all optical cross bar switch, holographic lithography and holographic optical elements. Dr.Chen, the group leader and a Professor in the ECE Department, has served as the chairman and program committee member for over forty domestic and international conferences organized by SPIE (The International Society of Optical Engineering), OSA, IEEE and PSC.  The optical interconnects research group at UT Austin has published over three hundred fifty research papers including forty invited papers. Chen has served as a consultant for various federal government agencies and private companies and delivered numerous invited talks in the professional societies. Dr. Chen is a member of IEEE, LEOS, SPIE, OSA, and PSC, and holder of the Temple Foundation Endowed Faculty. Currently there are 9 Ph.D. students and 1 Postdoc working on optical interconnect-related projects.  Dr. Chen is a Fellow of IEEE, of SPIE and of OSA.  He was the recipient of 2000 UT Engineering Foundation Award for his contributions in teaching, research and service.